Lafayette, LA                          July 30, 2018

Recently retired Louisiana Golf Association (LGA) Executive Director Carr McCalla has been named recipient of the Louisiana Golf Association’s Distinguished Service Award for 2018. The award was initiated in 1984 by the LGA to honor individuals who have contributed to the betterment of the game in Louisiana.

McCalla, whose name has been synonymous with the LGA for the last two decades, retired as Executive Director at the end of 2017 after over 22 years of service, having arrived at the LGA in October of 1995. He continues to serve the organization part-time as Senior Advisor, working on projects and providing his services as needed.

McCalla’s career in sports began as Graduate Assistant Basketball Coach at the University of Tennessee, receiving his Master’s degree there in 1976. He served as Assistant Basketball Coach at the University of New Orleans (1976-77), Marshall University (1977-78), and Murray State University (1978-79), before becoming Head Basketball Coach (1979-85) and Director of Athletics (1985-94) at Motlow (TN) College in Tullahoma, Tennessee. After a short stint as Director of Sports Programs at the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) in Indianapolis, he returned south in late 1995 to become the first full-time staff person at the LGA.

Working tirelessly on behalf of the LGA and the game, McCalla quickly gained a reputation as one of the country’s foremost experts on the rules of golf, being appointed to and serving on the prestigious USGA Rules of Golf committee. He served on Rules Committees at over 40 USGA Championships, including 16 U.S. Open Championships. He also served on the Rules Committee at the 2000, 2001, 2002, and 2003 Master’s Tournaments. He was appointed to the Board of Directors of the International Association of Golf Administrators (IAGA) in 1999, serving as President of that organization in 2005. He also served on the USGA’s Regional Associations and Bob Jones Award Committee.

For the first seven years of his tenure with the LGA, McCalla was the only full-time staff member, administering handicapping services, course rating services, and Championships with the help of an intern and a small cadre of volunteers. As a result of McCalla’s management skills, the LGA was able to expand its staff in 2001 with the hiring of a full-time Director of Member Services, and again in 2011 with the hiring of a full-time Director of Championship Operations. McCalla’s philosophy of bringing enhanced services to all LGA Member Clubs and individual members was the thread that ran through his entire tenure with the organization. In addition to improving the manner in which all LGA Championships were conducted, he was intent on significantly improving benefits to all LGA members, not just the small percentage that compete in LGA events.

“I am certainly honored to be this year’s recipient of the LGA’s DSA award. The last number of years working on behalf of the LGA has been a real labor of love,” said McCalla. I have been unbelievably blessed to have been able to have so many wonderful experiences in our game as a direct consequence of my involvement with the LGA.”

The LGA’s Distinguished Service Award is just the latest in a list of accolades McCalla has received from the golf and athletic community at large, including: Tennessee Collegiate Coach of the Year in 1981-82 and 1983-84, 1998 Achievement Award from the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, and the 2017 Barbato/Thomas Lifetime Achievement Award, given by the Gulf States Section of the PGA of America.

It is particularly fitting that Carr will be honored with this award as the LGA conducts its 27th annual Mid-Amateur Championship at Le Triomphe Golf & Country Club just south of Lafayette, where he and his wife reside. The award presentation will take place at the Pre-Championship Banquet at Le Triomphe on the eve of the Louisiana Golf Association Mid-Amateur Championship, Thursday night, August 2, 2018.

List of previous LGA Distinguished Service Award recipients:


1984  W.E. “Winnie” Cole        1985  Mike Barbato                1986  Henry Thomas


1987  Bill Bass                      1988  Freddie Haas, Jr.           1989  Frank Leach


1990  Tommy Wulff               1991  Albert Hand                  1992  Emile Zachariah


1993  Jim McGonagill            1993  Walter Fowler               1994  John Fister


1995  Bob DeMoss                 1996  Luca Barbato                1997  Oree Marsalis


1998   Johnny Myers               1999  Frank Gumpert             2000  Frank Mackel


2001  John Pruitt                     2002  Charles Dugas               2003  Jay Pierson


2003  Jim Pierson                   2004  Lionel Hebert                2005  Mary Capouch


2006  Ronnie Melancon         2007  Joseph Bartholomew       2008  J. Michael Veron


2009  Stuart Braud                 2011  Jimmy Headrick            2012  Debbie Rivers


2012  Jim Rivers                     2014  John Luffey                   2015  Kelly Gibson


2017  Mike Rodrigue